Honeycomb Cake Batter Treats

22 Mar

Honeycomb Cake Batter Treats……need I say more!!! These aren’t your average rice krispy treats. When I heard cake batter I was sold. I love anything cake batter (especially Cold Stone Cake Batter Ice Cream). The original recipe called for rice krispies cereal but being the daring little devil that I am I thought why not try something new and make them with one of my favorite cereals Honeycomb!!!! Who really likes rice krispies anyway? I was forced to eat them as a child as they were one of the healthier options of cereal out there. The only reason kids somewhat like them is because they talk to you right??? Snap, crackle and pop!!! Well now that I’m an adult I get to choose and I chose Honeycomb. :) I figured I would eat honey with cake so this combination must be good, and I was right!!! They were actually really, really, good!!!

With just five ingredients and no baking involved these little treats can be whipped up in no time. If you love rice crispy treats (which I’m sure you all do :)) then you will absolutely love these too, they are insanely delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbsp. butter
  • 1 (10 oz.) bag of mini-marshmallows
  • 1/4 cup funfetti or yellow cake mix (the dry cake mix, not prepared into a batter!)
  • 6 cups honeycomb cereal
  • 1 (1.75 oz.) container of sprinkles

Method:

Melt butter in a large saucepan over low heat and add marshmallows. Stir until they begin to melt, adding in (dry) cake mix one spoonful at a time so its combined. Stir in cereal so it is completely coated with marshmallow mixture. Sprinkle in half of the sprinkles and mix. Press into a baking dish (any size will do) and top with remaining sprinkles. Let sit for about 30 minutes before cutting. 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers

