10 Tips for making the perfect chocolate chip cookie

18 Jan


Chocolate chip cookies are a classic, and how can you mess up a classic.  I was wondering the same thing. I just couldn’t wrap my head around what went wrong. I followed all the directions and yet still my cookies came out either burnt, runny and thin, or looking like a pile of you know what…….

Fast forward, a few months into culinary school and I get a few tips that change my baking skills forever. Chocolate chip cookies and me will never be in another love hate relationship. We are in perfect harmony and I will never disappoint them again!!!! So here are a few tips I learned, you might have already been applying them but if you’re like me, and just starting out they will help you tremendously.

  1. WEIGH your ingredients. (Using a scale is much more accurate than measuring cups, and trust me with baking accuracy is very important)
  2.  Make sure your Butter and Eggs are at room temperature (it makes it easier to mix)
  3. Sift your flour/baking soda (not sure why but I was told to do it so I do it 🙂 )
  4. When mixing, just mix to incorporate. Don’t over mix (mix on a low-speed)
  5. Fold in chocolate chips with a spatula. Don’t use the mixer for this.
  6.  This is probably the most important tip!!! I don’t know why most recipes don’t tell you to do this. It’s never the same if you don’t. You MUST, MUST, MUST, REFRIGERATE your dough after it’s made.  (The butter needs time to harden up again before baking or else your cookies will come out runny)
  7. If you have a convection oven this is the time to use it. (The air blowing around in the oven gives the cookies a more even color)
  8. This is another very important tip!!! Take the cookies out of the oven when they are just golden brown around the edges. (I know you think they look way undercooked, but I promise they will carry over cook when they are resting on the counter.)
  9. Let cookies cool a few minutes on the baking sheet then transfer to a cooling rack!
  10. Last, but certainly not least ENJOY!!!!  You don’t even have to wait for tip number 9 for this one. If you’re like me you probably can’t resist and you burn your mouth, eating one right out of the oven every time

This is what your cookies should look like when you take them out of the oven

This is what they will look like after the carry over cooking

Basic Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe

5 oz. Butter

4 oz. Granulated Sugar

4 oz. Brown Sugar

0.25 oz. Salt

3 oz. eggs

0.25 oz. Vanilla extract

10 oz. All Purpose or Pastry Flour

0.25 oz. Baking Soda

10 oz. Chocolate Chips (I like Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips. None of those semi sweet things lol)

4 oz. Nuts (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

Cream butter, both sugars, and salt in a mixing bowl on low-speed. Just until light and fluffy (there shouldn’t be any chunks of butter)

Add eggs and vanilla just until incorporated (don’t over mix)

Gradually add your sifted flour/baking soda

Mix until a smooth batter forms

Turn off mixer and add your Chocolate chips and nuts with a spatula

REFRIGERATE the dough for at least 1 hour

Scoop dough onto ungreased baking sheet and bake for about 12 minutes.

Every oven varies so keep an eye on your cookies and remove them when they are just golden brown around the edges. You can rotate the cookies half way through.

3 Responses to “10 Tips for making the perfect chocolate chip cookie”

  1. Erin y January 18, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

    I’m following your blog chris, thanks for the tips!
    I’m going to try your recipes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Orange Cream Cookies « winter monroe - March 13, 2012

    […] (which I’m sure you all have) then these will be a sintch. You can also check out my post 10 tips for making perfect cookies, I hope this […]

  2. Virtual Dating Games.com | The Bolonx - October 14, 2014

    […] 10 tips for making the perfect chocolate chip cookie […]

Leave a Reply

