The Watermelon Radish

19 Jan

I’ve never really been a fan of radishes but who can resist something as beautiful as the watermelon radish. They are green on the outside and bright fuchsia on the inside. They are much milder and sweeter than regular radishes and are a great compliment to any salad!!! These delightful radishes can be hard to find, but whole foods usually carries them.

I used them in an ahi tuna, and snap pea salad. They were crisp and delicious. Not to mention super healthy!!! You can leave the outer skin on but I found it to be a little too bitter for my liking. As for the dressing I made a basic vinaigrette with sesame oil, lime juice, soy sauce, ginger and sriracha hot sauce.  As for amounts, it’s totally up to you. You can’t mess up a vinaigrette. Taste and adjust till your satisfied. I left the ahi tuna raw and it “cooked” in the lime juice, kind of like ceviche. If you’re going to do the same I suggest sushi grade ahi. Sprinkle with black sesame seeds and serve immediately or you can refrigerate and serve up to a few hours later.

The Ahi Tuna will change color after just a few minutes in the dressing.

2 Responses to “The Watermelon Radish”

  1. ProGain 350 October 24, 2013 at 3:22 am #

    Having read this I thought it was verry enlightening. I appreciate you finding the time and energy to put
    this article together. I once again finnd myself spending a skgnificant amount of time both readibg and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  2. Lavon March 11, 2014 at 12:51 am #

    Greetings! Very useful advice inn this particular article!
    It’s the little changes that produce the largest changes.
    Thanks a lot for sharing!

Leave a Reply

