Lemon Curd Cupcakes

30 Jan

Originally I was going to make a lemon tart but what started off as an epic fail turned into fabulous lemon curd cupcakes. Where do I begin…… so the first mistake I made was to use plastic wrap to blind bake my tart. I was taught to do it this way in school but I wouldn’t recommend it because the plastic started to melt (which makes sense in a 350 degree oven). I don’t know if they had special plastic wrap at school but it worked fine there, who knows. Anyway as I attempted to remove my tart from the oven I dropped it, and what a mess it made. I was furious, my husband can vouch for that 🙂 so here I was at 12:00am with a broken tart shell and a bowl of beautiful lemon curd I had already made. I definitely didn’t want the lemon curd to go to waste and I wasn’t about to make more Pate Sucree dough for the tart (if you’ve ever made it you know what a pain it is). So what did I do?  I turned to my good old friend the cupcake. Cupcakes never let me down, they’re fast and easy, and who doesn’t love a cupcake!!! And there you have it, Lemon Curd Cupcakes.

{ FAIL }

Lemon Curd

3 eggs

3 egg yolks

7 oz. sugar

2 lemons zested

5-1/2 oz. lemon juice (about 6 lemons)

2 oz butter

Bring about 2 inches of water to a boil in a pot then mix all ingredients except the butter in a mixing bowl. Put the mixing bowl onto of the pot, stir constantly until the lemon curd thickens about 10 min. Strain through a fine mesh strainer with the butter (the butter will melt with the hot lemon curd). Let cool then frost your cupcakes. I made a basic yellow cupcake. Serve immediately or refrigerate.

3 Responses to “Lemon Curd Cupcakes”

  1. Mark Wheeler January 30, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    The cupcakes look great. If I may make a suggestion you can use cheesecloth the next time you blind bake a pie or tart shell.

  2. mark January 30, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    Some kind of … BEAUTIFUL … your Lemon Cupcakes !!

Leave a Reply

