Oatmeal Raisin and Chocolate Coconut Oatmeal Cookies

29 Mar

Thank you Le Cordon Bleu for your awesome cookie recipes, they are so basic yet perfect every time. If you don’t already have a kitchen scale I highly recommend getting one. The Le Cordon Bleu baking recipes are always measured out by weight and I’m a firm believer that it makes all the difference. I made a batch of oatmeal raisin cookies they came out soft and chewy on the inside, crispy on the outside and loaded with plump juicy red and gold raisin (just how I like them :)).

They were so good I decided to make another batch but this time I changed it up a little.  Instead of raisins I added chocolate chips and shredded coconut! I know sounds amazing right? I have never had a cookie like this and they were beyond amazing. I would like to take credit for inventing this outstanding cookie as I just used leftover ingredients in my pantry to create them, however I looked them up online and to my surprise I wasn’t the first 😦 Oh well they were new to me and I love when new recipes come out great.

Note: (chocolate chip and coconut oatmeal cookies not pictured but trust me you will love them)

Ingredients

8 oz butter (room temp)

1lb brown sugar

1tsp salt

4 oz eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 oz milk

12 oz flour

1 tbsp baking powder

1& 1/2 tsp baking soda

10 oz rolled oats

8 oz raisins ( for the chocolate chip and coconut leave out the raisins and do 4 oz of each)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F

2. In an electric mixer cream together butter, sugar and salt

3. Add the eggs, vanilla, and milk to the butter and mix on low-speed just until incorporated

4. Sift flour, baking powder and baking soda then add rolled outs and mix together

5. Add 1/3 of the dry ingredients to the wet and mix then repeat until all is incorporated

6. Stir in the raisins by hand

7. Spray cookie sheets with non stick spray and bake 10-12 minutes, depending on size

One Response to “Oatmeal Raisin and Chocolate Coconut Oatmeal Cookies”

  1. Marcia March 30, 2012 at 11:24 pm #

    Excellent photos! They make my mouth water! I will make these tomorrow. 😛 YUM

Leave a Reply

